State of the Paulion Address 2011

Sorry for the radio silence. Things have been hectic enough that I’ve not spent too much time focusing on the innately spiritual. Well… Ish. I suppose the start of a new year is as good a time as any for a State of the Paulion Address.

Things in Clousetopia are largely new and exciting… In a lot of ways, really. We’ve grown some roots here in Knoxville. We never really believed that this place would ever be a home, we thought it would simply be city in which we resided until we moved on to our ‘real lives’. I guess life has a way of turning “real” even if you’re not looking for it to…

I guess a big part of this process is due in no small part to an amazing group of friends we’ve found here.  For the first time since the Nerd Boys went on their self imposed exile (read: they moved), I’ve got a group of people I truly enjoy spending time with. Their love of Knoxville has helped Leah and I to see this city as a home, rather than a stepping stone.

Leah has found that she has some serious skills in the kitchen. Skills specific to tasty goodies. So much so, in fact, that she has begun baking things in exchange for cash money. She’s doing it under the name “Créme Hurray” and taking local orders through a website. She’s taking this thing seriously and I couldn’t be more proud of her. Soon she’ll be saying goodbye to her comfortable day job as she will be present at the Knoxville Farmer’s Market.When she first timidly told me that this was something she was thinking of, I immediately told her that she could do pretty much anything she wanted. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago I realized I could actually stand to take the same advice.

I’m currently working a decent day job. Early last year I was promoted laterally into a new position that suits me much better than my old one… However, I find myself less fulfilled than one would hope. My dream is to create media. I’d love to find a job that would pay me to write, or to work with video, or otherwise have some means on content creation. I recently applied for a job that would have those things in spades… However, the job listing just expired and I’ve not heard anything back. I’m planning on following up, but I’m not holding my breath on this one… So, I’m keeping my eyes open. I’m looking online and hoping that something opens up.

But in the mean time… As I mentioned previously, I’m not fulfilled by putting in my eight hours. I need some means of expressing myself. Leah has been strongly encouraging (for years) me to write a book. I’ve always been in love with the idea of being a published author. Something about it just completely appeals to me… It’s just the writing part of the process that’s problematic. I have a couple of ideas, but I really don’t know that I know enough about anything to fill a book’s amount of pages. Still, I shall continue to brainstorm.

So then, bereft of words or creative outlets, I’m left to fend for myself. And I’m making provisions. Years ago, when I was at Johnson I tried to start an art group called the Bezalel Project. The idea was that people could come together and worship in ways other than singing… Painting, sculpture, drawing, writing, anything went. It was good, but it wasn’t long before the group fizzled and my tenure at Johnson ended shortly thereafter. Fast forward a few years, and I’ve just found that my church is looking to create something very much akin to that early group. I’ve alerted the staff member who is heading the idea up and told her that I would love to be involved. Hopefully this will be up and running in a few months. I’m excited for it.

I realize this post is a bit of a departure from my typical thoughts and ramblings… But I fully believe that in order to be able to truly understand anything anyone says, you must know that person’s context. Right now, my context is one of wide eyed optimism and joy as I see my life growing robust with opportunity.

One response to “State of the Paulion Address 2011

  1. Pingback: State of the Paulion Address 2013 « Hunting for God·

Leave a Reply

