A Change of Pace…

Hey everyone. So, I know you’re all chomping at the bit for part two of the “Uncle James” saga, but… too bad. I’m still working on it. In the mean time, however, I thought I’d share with you some of the happy-haps of my life at the moment.

When we last left our hero, he was awaiting a call back for a job interview with the Knoxville News Sentinel… So far, that hasn’t changed. If I don’t hear anything by Wednesday I figure I’ll give them another call and see where things are at. During the last couple of weeks, I’ve been looking for a new job and trying to figure out what I’d like to do with myself.

Leah challenged me to figure out what it is that I would really love doing… because for someone who supposedly loves writing, I honestly don’t do a lot of it. She pointed out that I enjoy tinkering with computers and have always enjoyed graphic design… perhaps I could find a future in those? I took some time and thought about what it is I see myself doing anytime in the future. Computers? No way… They’re fun to play with but I’d never find fulfillment doing that. Graphic design? Getting closer, but still not something I can really see myself going all in for.

The only answer that fit, was writing. It has to be writing. I feel a though God has placed me on this planet for no other truly specific purpose but to write. So there it is. That’s what I want to do… and it’s high time I start acting like it.

Shortly after my conversation with Leah, I stayed up for a few hours and thought about things. I realized that for me, writing has always been cathartic. A few days, or maybe weeks go by… thoughts pile up, and I’ll feel the need to write something in order to feel like I’ve cleaned out my head. This mental cleaning was the impetus of the vast majority of this blog. It’s a technique that has served me well… Generally, when I feel the need to write, words start pouring out and they usually string themselves along in a manner that suits me. However, there is a pitfall to this condition. Writing has always been a free will exercise, something I just do whenever I want to and without any form of rhyme or reason. I have a massive collection of stories I’ve started but never finished because the urge to write wore off before the idea did. I think I’ve always known that this was a shortcoming on my part, but chose to ignore it under the guise of “Oh, I just don’t work that way”. Now that it’s been boiled down to, “Oh, I just don’t work” I’m willing to see the folly of my plan.

So, I decided to do something about it. Starting the Friday prior to the last one, I began a regimen of mental fitness and acuity. Every weekday, I will write 750 words regardless of whether or not I feel like it. On the weekends, I will make a deliberate attempt at creating some form of visual art. In this manner, I hope to begin building a portfolio. Even if this job I’m rooting for doesn’t pan out, I’m hoping that I’ll have something that can speak for itself when the next opportunity arises.

I am now one week in, and I’m thrilled to report that I’ve lived up to my standards. I have written my 750 for an entire week. So where is the proof, you might ask? Not here. I find that inherent in the blogging system is the basic notion of, “I have something interesting to say, you should sit and read it.” Years of trying to write when I haven’t really felt like it have taught me that no one should be subjected to that particular brand of brainspew. As such, I’ve found a website that allows for people to post things nigh unto anonymously. The majority of these daily writings are taking place at www.quietwrite.com. If you fancy yourself a writer, you should check it out.

Regarding this crazy “weekend art” thing I’ve now got going, I was thinking about starting a new blog for my visual stuff. After some consideration, however, I think I’ve decided against it. Since this blog originally began as a means of tracking down God through whatever I’m doing, I think it’s only appropriate that the fruits of my labor wind up here for all to see.

Tune in next time for the glorious posting of said fruit.

Leave a Reply

