Clinging Vs. Leaping

I have to tell you, I forgot how all-consuming having an art project is. I finished a project for church last Saturday, and the whole process threatened to eat my soul. You can see the finished product at Impasto Life. As soon as I started devoting a real amount of thought to it, my urge to write dwindled immediately. It appears that at any given point in time I have a finite amount of creativity that can be spent on whatever project I choose to focus on. Realizing that early on, I gave myself a pass at writing on any kind of a consistent basis and focused solely on creating a visual work. I’m finding it difficult to get back into the swing of things, so bear with me as I try to locate my misplaced groove.

Life in the Clouse house is good, though a little nerve-wracking. We are on the brink of some major changes that are simultaneously exciting and terrifying. I’ll go more into detail on said changes at a later date, but for now let’s just say that we’re taking a pretty substantial leap of faith in the hopes that God catches us before we find ourselves dashed on the rocks of failure.

It’s got me thinking… As a whole, I’m pretty sure most Christians would say that yes, taking ridiculous leaps of faith believing that God will swoop in and save us is a good thing… And yet I’m not sure how often our behavior would reflect this. I think as a society we more or less define adulthood by our ability to fend for ourselves, to be self reliant, to make our own path a viable one. Christianity, however, plays by a different set of rules… In fact, it pretty much goes the exact opposite direction. All through scripture you find people maturing by actually becoming more dependent on God, and less on themselves.

At the same time, though, God has given us a brain and fully expects us to use it. We also see God espousing the virtues of being sensible throughout scripture as well. So which is it? Terrifying leaps, or terrified clinging?

As aggravating as it is, I don’t think there is a set answer to this quandary. I think God takes what he can get. If we’re willing to throw caution to the wind and believe that he’ll take care of things, I think he will… But it may not necessarily be in a manner that we would find most pleasing. If you stop paying bills because you believe God will take care of you, you’ll still find yourself homeless, though perhaps he’ll send a blanket and a sturdy box your way. If you can exist in such a manner and still be happy and fulfilled as a person, then more power to you. I don’t think it shows a lack of faith on our part to want to have a savings account… Although it certainly can if taken too far.

If you’re so caught up in making sure that every possible risk and danger that could conceivably come your way is taken care of by your own hands, you are doing yourself a disservice. Some of my favorite moments of my life have been when I realized something was too big for me to handle and gave it to God. He showed up and saved the day in a way I could never have come close to.

And this is where it gets tricky. Terrifying leaps, or terrified clinging? Honestly, I think if we’re doing life right it’ll have a little bit of both. I believe that God is willing to allow us to be content and even successful in our lives, and doesn’t hold the desire against us. However, he does seem to expect us to be willing to let go of everything if he asks us to. I guess the trick is to listen. What is God calling you to do? Do you feel him leading you to go down a certain path? If so, it’s in your best interest to follow no matter what the cost… But… If God seems silent on the issue… Then enjoy the fruits of your labor. Have fun. Go to parties. Hang out with your friends. Using what you have to show God to other people sounds like a life well lived to me.

Leave a Reply

