Behold! The New HfG!

Big changes are afoot for Hunting for God, the least of which is the snazzy new layout.  I thought I’d take some time to outline what this blog has been, as well as what it is becoming.

I started this blog one year ago with the intent that it would follow my journey as I tried to figure out where God had gone. You can read the detailed account of the whole process here, but suffice it say that this blog was created with the intent of helping me find him. One year later, and I think I’ve gotten a little closer. This blog has bore witness to several revelations about myself, as well as my helping me take my first communion in years. For all the good having this piece of the internet has done for me, I know it can do more.

In the time that I’ve been searching, I’ve discovered that more than anything, it’s encountering other people who are searching that has done my soul the most good. Coming to know a group of people and to experience their peaks and valleys alongside them has helped solidify my own thoughts and notions about God. And that’s my goal for HfG. The Hunt for God is bigger than myself. The path he shows me will be completely different than the path he shows you.

So, to that end, I will no longer be the sole writer of the blog. I’m opening the page up to allow anyone who has something to say to submit a post about the direction God is currently taking them and their thoughts on the journey thus far. If your submission is placed on the website, you will receive full credit for your post, along with the option to add a photo and a link to your own blog. Should you be willing to write on a regular basis, I will add a permanent link to your blog our Contributors page allowing any of our visitors to find you. My hope is that this will be mutually beneficial… you’ll receive additional traffic to your blog from us, and vis versa. I’m always looking for content, so if you have any ideas or suggestions, feel free to contact us.

Along with all of that, I’m updating the blog’s update schedule. Starting this Tuesday (8/2/2011), the blog will post new material every Tuesday and Thursday. Eventually I hope to go to three days a week, and then maybe five, but, well, starting small seems the wiser choice.

This is just the beginning, my goal is to begin hosting several avenues of discussion. Eventually I’ll be adding a message board, and  creating spaces for us to talk about the most recent post or other topics of interest. In the coming months I hope to start recording and releasing a series of podcasts based on experimental theology and spiritual “what if” scenarios.

Finally, I’m asking one thing from each of you. I’ve started a Facebook fan page for HfG. I would love it if you would be willing to “Like” us and help spread the word. You can do so with the shiny new widget on the right side of this page. You can also follow us on Twitter at @TheHuntForGod. If a post comes out that you enjoy, do me a solid and let the world know it. 🙂

I’m really excited about what HfG is becoming. I appreciate all the encouragement many of you have given me over the last few weeks. It means the world to me to know that what I’m writing matters. Let’s make something good.

The hunt is on.
One response to “Behold! The New HfG!

  1. Pingback: The Dedication (Part 1) « Hunting for God·

Leave a Reply

