Totally Wide Open

Although I didn’t overtly say it, I have had it in my head that my last post would be the springboard for this one. Over the past few months, I think my outlook on life has shifted slightly… I’m finding all of the boxes I used to think inside of are being tossed and carried away by the breeze. Life, in all its complexities and eccentricities is looking more and more like a playground. I think I’ve really begun to internalize the fact that I can do anything I want. Seriously. Life is wide open.

Back in February I began work on a productivity system that leveraged my love of role-playing games. Essentially, as you complete quests (tasks) you’re rewarded with experience points. You level up as you gain XP, and when you reach a new level you’re allowed to splurge on something you wouldn’t normally do. I hope to unveil it to the world sometime soon, but that’s the gist of it. Why am I telling you this? Because it’s been really good for me.

I’m currently at level three, about halfway to level four. Since the time that I’ve started this program I’ve procured a gym membership, built a computer, had some fancy meals, and watched a few awesome movies. I taught myself some basic chemistry and made soap, connected with a photographer here in Knoxville to begin doing extra video work and I’m about to get cracking on making a portfolio. Most recently, as of last Wednesday, I finally succumbed to a secret desire I’ve had since I was a kid and I actually went up at an open-mic and did some stand-up comedy. I’ve since gone up three times, and the feedback has been amazing.

I’m filling my life with all of these neat and wonderful little things, and I can already begin to see God moving and orchestrating them into something I never could have imagined. In fact, twice this week God has seemingly orchestrated something that I hadn’t even prayed for because I felt silly for it. I have an idea for a series of videos that I think has potential to be really cool. The thought had been stewing in the back of my mind for a week or two, when this Sunday one of the media guys at our church approached me in regards to doing a video series. As he began telling me what he was thinking, I realized what he was describing was exactly what I had been thinking about.

And, just in case I thought that might be a coincidence, the same thing happened last night. I don’t know where this stand-up stuff is going. I’m really enjoying it and having a good time getting up, but I know that as a rule it’s almost always ten years before a stand-up begins to find any widespread recognition. I don’t know that I’m going to make that commitment. Instead, I know that what I really want to do is create media. Videos. Podcasts. Hopefully books. Movies. After my set last night I was approached to do something that would fall more in line that notion. I believe that God is our biggest advocate, and lately I feel like he’s been proving it to me.

Reader, do me this solid. Take some time, just a minute or two, and think about what you really want out of life. Write down your dreams. Get them on paper. Break them down into steps. If you’re not sure what the steps are, then do some research. Make things happen. I promise that you won’t be disappointed with where you find yourself.

 

One response to “Totally Wide Open

  1. Pingback: Did You Bring Your Permission Slip? « Hunting for God·

Leave a Reply

