The Dedication (Part 2)

HfG began in the midst of what Saint John of the Cross referred to as, “The Dark Night of the Soul”. God was silent. I was lost. I was a pilgrim in a strange land and I didn’t know if I would ever find my way out. This blog helped me find my path and find God. And, unexpectedly, I’ve been told by a few people that it’s helped them do the same.

I dedicated  the past year to finding my way out of the darkness and into the light. I’m dedicating the next year to helping others do the same. My dream for HfG is that it stops being about me entirely. I want the focus of this blog to become the active hunt for a God that is real and present in all of our lives. I want HfG to become a place that people go to hear tales from travelers they’ve never met. I want HfG to become a home for true and honest discussion. I want HfG to become a bastion of light in the midst of others’ Dark Night.

In short, my dream is to be just a facilitator and occasional contributor for the blog. I’m not the only one trying to find God in my life, and my voice shouldn’t be the only one presented. I have visions of HfG becoming a thriving and active community of people sharing their stories and the places they were shocked to discover God in. I want this blog to become a magazine of the ways in which people are living out their faith and trying to give their convictions legs. I want to hear your voices. Explain to me the context of your life and how God fits into it.

To make Hunting for God into what I believe it can be, I need you. The fact of the matter is that even though Community feels like the most natural thing in the world, it isn’t easy. In the coming year I believe my duties will begin to shift toward being a cheerleader for this blog as well as constantly seeking people who want a public avenue to explore their faith like I have over the past year.

I need writers. I’m genuinely tired of being the sole voice of this hunt. I want others who will commit to writing a post; just one a month. I want your stories to echo through the trees and over the cliffs and into the ears of those who are still hunting for God. It can be a paragraph. A sentence. It can be anything, as long as it conveys your experience, the highs and/or lows of your own personal hunt.

I need artists. I want to showcase your work. I want to give you a place to publish your paintings, your drawings, your doodles, your sculptures, your songs, your poems. These are the things that move our soul. These are spots that God hides in most often. I want to show them to the world so that people can catch a glimpse of God through your effort and talent.

I need communicators. I want your voice to be heard. I want to hear you tell your stories. I want to create a network of Podcasts, of conversations we get to listen in on. God exists when friends get together and talk.  I want to publish videos; tales from the hunt. Whether it’s a produced story that tells the Truth or a webcam video of you telling a story, I want to begin seeing your stories being told.

I need… help. I’ll be honest… At this time, I truly don’t know what I’m doing. I know bits and pieces of the technical side, but I’m not sure the best way to allow consistent contributions to the blog to take place. As these ideas progress, I know I’ll be running into various issues that could certainly benefit from someone with web experience.

 

This cannot happen without you.I feel like something wonderful is on the brink of being coming together, but I absolutely cannot do it without you. I need your stories. I need your art. I need your skills and talent. Together, we can create a haven to help feed and clothe the other lost and weary pilgrims along their way. Be thinking about your gifts, talents and abilities and how you might be able to share a piece of them with the rest of the world.

I’ll be taking a break from posting next week. I need some time to noodle out how I’m going to try and implement some of these changes and I don’t want to commit to anything I couldn’t follow through on. When I come back, I’m going to be asking for your help in some specific ways. In the mean time, if you would be willing to share this post on Facebook or send it to your friends, I’d appreciate it. I want to get the word out that there is a place opening up for people to share their struggles and triumphs in whatever form they choose.

Photo Credit: MasterC88
One response to “The Dedication (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: What Kind of Hotel Is This? « Hunting for God·

Leave a Reply

