What Kind of Hotel Is This?

Hey everyone. I know it’s been a while since I’ve written a typical HfG style blog post, but I’ve got just a little more housekeeping stuff I want to mention before we get back to business as usual.

In my last post I explained that I’m trying to make HfG a community, and to do that I’d really love to post work written by other people. I’ve gotten a few questions about the process that I wanted to address:

What if the post is already published on another blog?
Not a problem. I’m not looking for exclusivity, only authenticity. If you’ve already posted a blog elsewhere on the net, I’d be happy to republish it here.

Do I have to use my real name?
Not at all. I understand that we may not want the whole world to bear witness to our struggles. If you would feel more comfortable using an alias, you are welcome to do so.

How should I get the post to you?
You can shoot me the link if it’s already on the internet or write it out and send it to huntingforgod@gmail.com or you can tweet it at me at @TheHuntForGod or you can reach me via the Facebook Page.

And speaking of Twitter and Facebook, there’s something else I’ve been wanting to talk to you guys about. I took last week off because I needed to figure some things out regarding the future of this blog. Trying to say something substantive about God two times a week is mentally draining work, and prior to taking my break I was questioning if I should even continue. The idea of forcing myself to sit down two times a week for another year felt at best, boring, and at worst, like a death sentence.

But during my time away, the idea of not writing began to feel increasingly ludicrous. Who was I kidding? Even if it wasn’t this blog it would be another. Writing is how I work out my faith. It’s how I grow. Hell, more times than not it’s how I pray. I feel like God made it pretty clear that we’re not done here yet. But… I needed something to challenge myself. The idea of posting more still seems utterly terrifying, so that’s right out… Instead, I’ve decided to begin to focus on an aspect of the blog that I’ve sorely neglected…

Interaction. Another word for that might be “advertising” or “publicity”. I’ve decided that I’m going to make it a priority to see the blog grow in the coming year. I want to bring more eyes to HfG, start more discussions. I want to have a more active presence throughout the week aside from just writing two posts. So, to that end if you’re not already following HFG on Twitter, I suggest you do so. The same goes for liking the Facebook page. Very soon I hope to start bringing you guys new content on a regular basis from across the distant corners of the internet.

Along with that, I think you’re going to see some changes to the posts themselves. I’ve been writing in this blog since 2010. It’s only in the last week that I cognitively pieced together the fact that I could totally make some video posts. (You know, video, it’s what I went to college for and the medium I love working with above all others.) Yep. Just realized that was an option. So! You can look forward to that in the quasi-near future.

Also, in the last post I mentioned that I’ve wanted to create some podcasts for a while now.  So far I’ve had three concepts form in my head and each would be their own individual Podcast:

In the first, my wife Leah would be the co-host. Some (most) of the best conversations I’ve ever had have been with her. This podcast would be a glimpse into married life, spirituality, and the practical side of life. And the icing on the cake? We’re funny, as well as awesome.

The second idea I’ve had would be a series of conversations with various friends and guests. The idea would be that each episode we would explore a different “What if” scenario… As in, “What if there are aliens? Would Jesus’ Resurrection apply to them as well?” or “What if there is no hell?” or “What if the movie ‘Constantine’ holds some theological truth?”

Finally, the third would be a short podcast that I would do on my own. (I think.) Basically, each episode would be a story or a continuation of a story. Think fully produced old timey radio drama.

We are still quite a ways off from the donation goals I outlined last time, but that doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about it. If you guys would like to see these become a reality, your help is greatly appreciated. Feel free to spread the word as well. You can send the “Help A Brother Out” page to friends and family to get them on board.

Anyway, I guess what I’m saying is that you guys are going to have to get used to me being a cheerleader for the blog. I think in the past I’ve been a little sheepish and afraid of getting on people’s nerves with constant updates and reminders, but… Sometimes people need updated and reminded. Like everything else about this blog, this is going to be an absolute experiment. I’m doing my best to figure everything out as I go and I promise you, if you stick around you’ll see some spectacular failures… But, you might just see a few wins, too.

Photo Credit: atomiclemon
Leave a Reply

