And Now, for Something Completely Different…

different

I started this blog back in 2010. In August of 2011 I decided I was going to push myself and start blogging two times a week. Almost two years later, and I’m still going… But I’m getting tired.

The fact of the matter is hunting for God is exhausting work. If I were writing about technology, there would always be a new gadget to talk about. If I were writing about relationships, there would be clear and obvious interactions to discuss. Instead, I’m talking about God. I’m talking about an invisible, vocally silent being who prefers subtlety over the obvious. Every time I write a post, I have to spend some amount of time praying or meditating, hoping I happen to tug on a thread that will lead me to a completed post. Even after three years, this process still takes hours. 

I wish there was an easy way to come up with something interesting to write about. I wish it wasn’t up to me to try and listen to the vague mumbles and murmurs of an inexplicable God.  I would love it, if I could write about God without having to hole up in the bedroom for an undetermined amount of time. In a perfect world, I would be a paparazzo that snaps pictures of God when he’s wearing his sweat pants and then I could just write a post called “He’s just like us!”. But, that’s not how it works. Saying something meaningful and authentic requires more than a clever turn of phrase. It requires time, experience, and familiarity. And lately I’m feeling like I’m skimping on all three when it comes to God.

So here’s what’s happening. I’m going to take the month of June off from writing HfG. Hopefully, I’ll be able to use the month to recharge, get my head on straight, and come back in July ready to wrestle with God.

But what of the blog? Fear not! In the mean time, I will be leaving you in the capable hands of my lovely and wonderful co-Clouse, Leah. That’s right. For the remainder of the month, Leah will be taking on the responsibilities of the blog. Stay tuned! It’s going to be a good month.

Leave a Reply

