Giving Life to Life

touch

After many years of New Year’s resolutions boring me, or making me feel like a complete failure, I decided to switch things up a bit. So, as 2012 became 2013, I decided on a theme for the upcoming year. Promises. I wanted to fulfill the promises I made myself (I will create a blog, I will focus on my health), and also strive to keep the promises I made to others (I will meet them at that restaurant on time). Yes, I had goals, but instead of nitpicking every attempted (or failed) aspiration, I focused on the year and the theme as a whole. Was 2013 a year I stepped up my game on keeping promises?

Honestly, I would like to say there was some growth in that area, but not as much as I would have liked. I still let myself down in this area more than I would have liked. But, it did make me more mindful of what I truly wanted in life, and the habits holding me back. And the idea that there was a bigger picture than just a failed resolution was a healthier way of viewing things in my opinion.

So, this year I’ve decided to reinstate the idea and create a theme for 2014. I decided on “Lifegiving”, after too many days in December slipped by in a stressful, exhausting, blurry haze. Quite honestly, I have let too many days go by in that manner throughout my adulthood. I don’t know how, but I lost that hunger to live life to its fullest. It seemed I turned around one day, and the wonder that used to come so easily had given way to cynicism and ennui; I wanted my life spark back!

I’ve gone on a quest of sorts since then, determining what Lifegiving truly means to me. I’ve talked to God, friends, family, and tried to listen to the stirrings inside of my own soul. Truly living life it seems, is a very personal matter. And since I know myself more than I know anyone else, I will share what I’ve been learning about my own life.

True life will always begin and end when I am connected to the Creator of my heart and soul. So much in this world can fill the gaps for awhile. But I’m truly missing out if I don’t take the time to seek the truth from the One that created it. When everything else falls apart, I still have a firm foundation to stand on.

What’s cool about this Creator however, is that the true life he offers has so many facets to it. I know people who come alive by the stroke of a paintbrush, the sizzle of well-cooked food, the timing and rhythm of a piece of music (whether that be Vivaldi or the Rolling Stones). I come alive when I feel a piece of writing captures my inner most thoughts. I come alive when I make time to be silent and still. When a sentence in a book I’m reading encompasses exactly how I feel about a subject.  When I take the time to encourage a friend, stranger, (or dare I say it), an enemy. When I create, listen, love, learn, forgive, smile, laugh, or even drop my guard and come unglued, I embrace the vast and full possibilities of life.

I don’t think anything I’m doing is profound or new. After all, don’t we all want to live life to its fullest potential? But I feel on the cusp of a life well lived, and to me that is an amazing possibility! So, are you living? What brings you to life? Squid- fishing? Woodcarving? Working with the homeless? Starting a fashion blog?  It doesn’t matter what it is, just as long as it fills you up. I hope I  look back and realize how much life I stopped missing this year because of my intention to live. I hope you can join me in living.

Leave a Reply

